Madeleine&coffee

DSCN0207 (1)

“And suddenly the memory returns. The taste was that of the little crumb of madeleine which on Sunday mornings at Combray (because on those mornings I did not go out before church-time), when I went to say good day to her in her bedroom, my aunt Léonie used to give me, dipping it first in her own cup of real or of lime-flower tea.”

This is an extract from “In Search of Lost time” by Marcel Proust. It popped into my mind this morning while I was sipping my coffee and eating my exquisite madeleine. I thought “This sweet is amazing and I like it even better thanks to the magnificent prose of Proust!”

Every day we meet at least one beautiful pleasure or one beautiful view or one beautiful object that makes us feel that life is beautiful, in the real sense of the word. Beauty is everywhere around us and it’s our job to look for and find it. If we learn to observe, we can see everything!

Madeleines are really cute sweets from France with a chubby shape. The taste is soft and delicate, but also intense. I dipped  my madeleine in my coffee and its spongy pastry impregnated with the black fluid. The taste was now even better and I enjoyed my breakfast sitting on a comfortable armchair and observing my green garden full of flowers from my window.

There is beauty. There is beauty in daily life.

Leave a comment