Hello September

Hello everyone!

Hope you all had a fantastic summer and you are now ready to welcome September with sparkles in your eyes. It’s been a while since I wrote the last post on the blog, I know, but I have been so busy with work. I am still at the beginning of my blogging path and actually I have realized that it is pretty hard to fit everything in a single day made only of 24 hours! I don’t want blogging to become a chore, so for now I just write something here when I have the time and I am in the right mood for sharing experiences with you. However, I am thinking of planning my posts a little bit in advance and try to write posts twice a week. This is my new goal and from next week on I’ll try to keep at it.

Ok, now that I wrote down my resolution for the next months, I can start sharing with you what happened in the last few weeks. My last post was about packing for the summer holidays (so sad it’s all gone) and from then a lot happened. I went to Croatia with my boyfriend and some friends and I literally LOVED Krk. It’s a wonderful island, the sea is crystalline and the atmosphere is magic. Unfortunately I was there just for a week, but we had so much fun together.

A day after coming back from Croatia, my boyfriend and I went to Rome for a romantic 5-days trip. In today’s post I’ll share with you some of the most beautiful and interesting places you should go to if you have just few days to spend in Rome. Let’s start:

  • Very touristic, but also very enchanting is the Fontana di Trevi. I imagined it to be smaller, but actually its size is pretty big and it occupies most of the small square where it is placed. The fountain was designed by Nicola Salvi in the 18th century. It represents the theme of the sea: the big statue you see in the frontal niche is Oceanus, the god of the sea, while on his sides we can find the statues of Salubrity and Abundance. The square is always crowded and it is difficult to find a spot where to sit and watch the beauty of the fountain, but trust me, it is really worth it. Also, you should really watch here the beautiful runaway show by Fendi where the models walk on the Fontana di Trevi, amazing.

dscn0396dscn0395

  • The second place worth visiting is the Fori Romani (Imperial Fora). We spent one entire morning walking around the Imperial Fora because they LOOK pretty small, but actually they ARE very big. You never stop discovering hidden places and by walking up you end up being on the Colle Palatino. The Imperial Fora were fundamental during the period of the Roman Republic and of the Roman Empire because they were the cultural, political and administrative heart of Rome. Wandering around, you will find the beautiful arch of Titus and Septimius Severus with all their accurate decorations.dscn0421dscn0423
  • It doesn’t matter if you are not a religious person, when traveling it is always a good idea to give a look inside churches. Here, you can find beautiful decorations, amazing glass windows and stunning ceilings. This is why when I read that the Church of San Carlo alle Quattro Fontane was designed by the famous architect Francesco Borromini, I didn’t waste other time and I got inside it. I couldn’t have taken a better choice: the church is a small masterpiece of the baroque style with a geometrical design. It is not full of opulent decorations, on the contrary its beauty relies on its complex simplicity. What I loved the most about the church was its white, geometric ceiling that gave me a sense of peace and perfection. You can’t miss it.

dscn0405

  • After days walking around Rome, a yummy Tiramisù is what you need to take a rest and enjoy the rest of the day. I have a sweet tooth, so I’m always happy when I find a nice place where I can eat my beloved sweets at a reasonable price. Pompi is an amazing bakery bar where you can find all the Tiramisù tastes you’ve been dreaming about. I tried the strawberry one and it tasted so good I wanted to buy another one! In addition to Tiramisù, you can find all kinds of pastries and in some place even nice salty food. The good thing is that everything is fresh, tasty and quite cheap. For a portion of Tiramisù (pretty big) it’s only €4 which is a perfect quality snack to eat on the way to Piazza di Spagna, where you can go shopping and enjoy its elegant atmosphere.
  • The last place you should definitely visit even if you’re going to Rome for few days is Via Margutta. It’s a narrow street you can access from Via del Babuino and it leads you to Piazza del Popolo. Originally, it was known for its artistic background and also today you can find  art galleries, modern design shops and original restaurants. It’s so relaxing to walk on this way because it is isolated from the chaos of the city, the houses are full of plants and the shops are catching. This street became famous also thanks to Roman Holiday, one of my favorite movies with audrey Hepburn, because here Gregory Peck had its modest abode. Let yourself go and breathe the magic atmosphere of this beautiful place.

I hope you enjoyed my little tips about places to visit in Rome and let me know if you’ve been there too and what you liked most about it. I wish you all a wonderful weekend and I promise, see you in few days with a new post.

Giulia

Leave a Reply

