Details are everything

Hey lovelies, this week has been pretty weird, in the sense that I spent more time at home than at work because I didn’t feel too well. As I told you, I had my wisdom tooth removed and it’s been pretty painful all week long. Anyway, now I feel better and I wanted to write a post about details. Yep, you heard right, details! I am a huge fan of details, of those little elements that seem to be so small, but in reality they make the real difference.

When I was young and I had to write some essays for school, I usually wrote very short sentences like “The house is pretty” or “The dog is barking” and that was it. When my mum checked my homework, she always tried to make me write more, to make me enrich the sentence. So “The house is pretty” became “The big house at the end of the street is very pretty because it has many decorations around it”. You get what I mean? She made me add the details to the sentence because they were meaningful and the real key to a successful story. So, my essays were longer, better and most importantly, more detailed.

As I grew up and my essays grew longer, I started to understand by myself the beauty of details. I started to look at things under a different light, to appreciate the small things around the big ones. In this post I want to make three examples that exemplify the value of details. They are very simple and I’m sure everyone knows what I’m talking about, but  what works for me is to read something I already have a knowledge of, in this way I can fully reflect on it. So, let’s start!

The first example is linked to my beloved art. I love paintings, I love walking around museums and art galleries, I love standing in front of an artwork and simply stare at it. And it is exactly while I’m standing in front of a painting and my mind is spinning and wandering that I notice small but essential elements: the small black ribbon around Olympia’s neck in Manet’s painting, the black train in most of De Chirico’s works or the colorful brushstrokes in Van Gogh’s self-portraits. All these elements have specific meanings that allow you, the observer to understand the story and link the information about the painter, his life and the painting itself. Moreover, in art also the colour plays a symbolic role: red represents the human passions while white is a symbol of purity. Only by carefully observing the artworks it is possible to detect all these small details that make the difference, that make the artwork an amazing artwork. I want to close this first example with another painting by Jan Van Eyck: the Arnolfini Portrait. Here, a couple of lovers is elegantly posing in front of the painter, but the interesting detail about the whole composition is the small mirror that reflects the back of the lovers and other two unknown people. Who are they? What are they doing? Details are made in order to challenge us, the observers and to make us think about the artworks, about the artists and above all, about life, our life.

518.jpg

Van Gogh Self Portrait with Grey Felt Hat

 

Unknown.jpeg

Van Gogh Self Portrait

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Van_Eyck_-_Arnolfini_Portrait.jpg

Arnolfini Portrait

The_Arnolfini_Portrait,_détail_(2).jpg

Detail of the Arnolfini Portrait

The second example is connected to fashion. We’re in the right week to talk about fashion and so I wanted to take inspiration from a beautiful dress I saw in magazines some years ago. I am talking about a Chanel dress which is part of the Resort Collection of 2013. I literally love this dress because it’s simple but at the same time very chic. And here it’s visible the importance of details again: the white dress would be insignificant without the beautiful red details that seem to create a majestic belt around the model, as well as the elements above the shoulders. It’s simplicity with a touch of class.

Chanel-Resort-2013_49.jpg

Chanel Resort Collection 2013

Another interesting example which is more up to date comes from Moschino fashion show. The designer managed to recreate a very funny detail: do you girls remember when we used to play with paper dolls and in order to dress them up we had to bend the little white paper edges around their bodies? Well, he used the same idea to design the new collection. In this case, this little detail, the white paper edges, recalls a specific period of life, the idea of childhood, when everything looks possible and funny. Details, even if they are very small, can recreate atmospheres, underlining the real meaning of something. By looking at Moschino’s dress we could have imagined that it was linked to fairy tales, princesses and this type of world, but only thanks to the white details we actually see what the desired outcome is. And I think the idea is seriously brilliant! It immediately reminded me of my happy period of life, when I used to spend my long afternoons playing with my paper dolls and making up stories. Oh, the beautiful life!

14355155_1179721185422148_2819206448764002089_n.jpg

Moschino Spring/Summer 2017 Fashion Show

14425330_10154570323175990_4014885212700702694_o.jpg

Moschino, Spring/Summer 2017 Fashion Show

Finally, the last example is pretty general: by looking around us, we can find many different places where there are interesting details. Mostly, when we travel or we’re discovering a place, we are more attentive to catch details. They can be decorations on the street, patterns on the facade of a building or simply the drawing on a tablecloth of a restaurant. The common denominator is that, no matter what they are, details impress us and beautify the world, every time. By walking around Rome, I found interesting elements I wanted to photograph as well as by visiting the Triennale in Milan, because they were something peculiar that I wanted to remember and use for future projects. Inspiration comes from everywhere.

DSCN0408.jpg

DSCN0330.jpg

dscn0361dscn0473img_2623

I guess that’s it about details. Hope you appreciated it and now I’m gonna enjoy the last remaining hours of a lazy Sunday before Monday comes up again!

Have a nice evening!

Giulia

 

Leave a Reply

